CALL US: 1-844-543-7732 (KIDS READ)
Menu
Discovering Wes Moore at Ashaybythebay.com
Discovering Wes Moore at Ashaybythebay.com

$ 7.99 $ 8.99

Discovering Wes Moore

Wes Moore (A)

List Price: $8.99 (Paperback - Biography / Parallels Two Lives / Same Name - 2013)

Description:For fans of The Wire and Unbroken comes a story of two fatherless boys from Baltimore, both named Wes Moore. One is in prison, serving a life sentence for murder. The other is a Rhodes Scholar, an army veteran, and an author whose book is being turned into a movie produced by Oprah Winfrey.

Two men. One overcame adversity. The other suffered the indignities of poverty. Their stories are chronicled in Discovering Wes Moore, a book for young people based on Wes Moore's bestselling adult memoir, The Other Wes Moore.

The story of of the other Wes Moore? is one that the author couldn't get out of his mind, not since he learned that another boy with his names just two years his senior who grew up in the same Baltimore neighborhood. He wrote that boy now a man a letter, not expecting to receive a reply. But a reply came, and a friendship grew, as letters turned into visits and the two men got to know each other. Eventually, that friendship became the inspiration for Discovering Wes Moore, a moving and cautionary tale examining the factors that contribute to success and failure and the choices that make all the difference. (176 ps) Age 12

Includes an 8-page photo insert.

Ashay says,"What an interesting story! Two lives so very similar but with two very different outcomes. Mr. Moore also has another book he wrote in 2010, "The Other Wes Moore" in which he shares his experiences and success.I think this book is great for mentoring teens and will provoke discussions that focus on choices and decision making. Must have for the classroom and library."

Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 0.4 x 8.2 inches
Shipping Weight: 5.6 ounces

ISBN: AABA978-0385741682

You also Viewed

layout.homepage.mailing_list_join

layout.homepage.mailing_list_text