CALL US: 1-844-543-7732 (KIDS READ)
Menu
Middle Passage
Middle Passage Middle Passage

$ 15.00 $ 16.00

Middle Passage

Charles Johnson (A)

List Price: $16.00 (Paperback - African American History / Middle Passage / Slave Trade - 1998)

Description: A twenty-fifth anniversary edition of Charles Johnsonäó»s National Book Award-winning masterpieceäóî"a novel in the tradition of Billy Budd and Moby-Dickäó_heroic in proportionäó_fiction that hooks the mind" (The New York Times Book Review)äóînow with a new introduction from Stanley Crouch.

Rutherford Calhoun, a newly freed slave and irrepressible rogue, is lost in the underworld of 1830s New Orleans. Desperate to escape the cityäó»s unscrupulous bill collectors and the pawing hands of a schoolteacher hellbent on marrying him, he jumps aboard the Republic, a slave ship en route to collect members of a legendary African tribe, the Allmuseri. Thus begins a voyage of metaphysical horror and human atrocity, a journey which challenges our notions of freedom, fate and how we live together. Peopled with vivid and unforgettable characters, nimble in its interplay of comedy and serious ideas, this dazzling modern classic is a perfect blend of the picaresque tale, historical romance, sea yarn, slave narrative and philosophical allegory. (209 pigs)

Now with a new introduction from renowned writer and critic Stanley Crouch, this twenty-fifth anniversary edition of Middle Passage celebrates a cornerstone of the American canon and the masterwork of one of its most important writers. "Long after weäó»d stopped believe in the great American novel, along comes a spellbinding adventure story that may be just that" (Chicago Tribune).

Ashay says, "Middle Passage is a classic. Charles Johnson researched this specific part of African American history over 17 years before he wrote the book. He is considered a master storyteller, and his details are excellent. All youth in grades 11 and 12 should be required to read this Award Winning Book and take this voyage. It will surely provide a glimmer of "reality" for what life might have been like for African people on the slave ships. Must have it for the classroom and library."

Product Dimensions: 5.2 x 0.5 x 8 inches Shipping Weight: 8.8 ounces

ISBN: AFHI978-0684855882

You also Viewed

layout.homepage.mailing_list_join

layout.homepage.mailing_list_text